Hit and Run Charges in Southern California

Orange County Hit-and-Run Attorney           Los Angeles Hit and Run Defense Lawyer

                 (714) 677-4141                                                      (213) 215-0135

California Hit and Run Defense Attorney

California Vehicle Code Section 20002(a) states in pertinent part – The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting only in damage to any property, including vehicles, shall immediately stop the vehicle at the nearest location that will not impede traffic or otherwise jeopardize the safety of other motorists and exchange information.

If the vehicle you hit is a parked vehicle, then you are required to leave in a conspicuous place on the vehicle or other property a written notice giving your name and address of the driver and owner of your vehicle and a statement of the circumstances of the accident. You are also required to notify the local police department of the accident.

If you have caused damage to another vehicle or property and do not exchange information and without doing so, you leave the location of the incident, then you can be charged with Hit and Run.

Most of the time hit and run accidents are not considered serious offenses and are charged as a MISDEMEANOR. However, if there is considerable property damage or bodily injury, you can be charged with a FELONY. Misdemeanor charges can carry a punishment of up to 1 year in county jail, and felony charges can carry a sentence of up to 3 years in state prison.

Contact our office to speak with a California hit and run defense attorney who can get involved in the early stage of the investigation by contacting the police officer or detective involved and negotiating a “civil compromise” where we make sure that the victims are fully compensated for their damages with the understanding that they will not press any charges. Many times this can be achieved if a knowledgeable attorney gets involved in a timely manner.

Contact the attorney who can make a difference in YOUR case. If you, a friend or a loved one is charged with a Hit-and-Run in Los Angeles County, or facing Hit-and-Run charges in Orange County, don’t hesitate, pick up the phone and call our office immediately, your call is FREE! 

We can resolve your conflict at law with our familiarity with your local Court and District Attorney.

For a free consultation, contact our office or fill out our contact form:

Quick Contact Form